Current Board Members 

Jeffrey C. Covill

Represents the Second District; consisting of Maricopa, Pinal, Gila, Yuma and La Paz Counties

Richard L. Poynter
Vice-Chairperson, Prescott

Represents the Third District; consisting of Mohave, Yavapai, Coconino, Apache and Navajo Counties

Position Vacant

Represents the First District; consisting of Pima, Santa Cruz, Cochise, Graham and Greenlee Counties

Sandra B. Kelley
Member at Large

Jolene U. Dance
Member at Large


Member at large

State Land Department Board of Appeals

Arizona Revised Statute §37-215 requires all land sales and commercial leases to be approved by the Board of Appeals, which also serves as an Administrative Review Board.

Applicants and lessees may appeal to the Board a final decision of the State Land Commissioner that relates to appraisals and classifications.

The State Land Department Board of Appeals consists of five board members selected by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms. Three members represent the 15 counties in the State, which is divided into three districts. Two members hold positions-at-large.

The current board members are Jeffrey Covill (Chairperson), Richard Poynter(Vice-Chairperson), Jolene Dance and Sandra Kelley.

The Board meets monthly unless special circumstances warrant additional sessions. Meetings are usually held in Phoenix.

During the fiscal year, the Board approved 15 new commercial leases, 33 renewal leases, 55 rights-of-way sale appraisals, and 20 land sale appraisals.